Renault UK Clio Cup Reveals Quality Entry List

The Renault UK Clio Cup has published a quality 23-car entry so far for its eagerly-anticipated 2016 race season, which gets under way in just a few days’ time at the Brands Hatch circuit in Kent on the weekend of Sat 2/Sun 3 April.

Quarter Century

Notably, 2016 will mark 25 years since the UK Clio Cup’s first race season was held in 1991. Furthermore the UK Clio Cup enters its 2016 season having also confirmed it will remain a permanent part of the Dunlop British Touring Car Championship’s high-profile events through to the end of 2019 at least – meaning huge trackside crowds and live coverage on ITV4 for its teams, drivers and sponsors.

Top Names

The 2016 entry list is fitting of such an anniversary with plenty of top names – among them former champions Paul Rivett and Mike Bushell, plus fellow proven race-winners Ant Whorton-Eales and Lee Pattison. Eleven more drivers return following full or part-campaigns in 2015 with the remaining eight all new to the championship. Some of those are already being tipped for future stardom.


Of ten different teams represented, four have strong links with the BTCC: reigning title-holder Pyro continues its partnership with leading BTCC squad BMR via its young protégé Senna Proctor; Bushell, also part of the Pyro line-up, returns to the grid after a season in the BTCC; another of the BTCC’s top outfits, Ciceley, is entering the UK Clio Cup for the first time with a three-car line-up; Cooksport is run by emerging BTCC star Josh Cook; JamSport has entered into a partnership with BTCC entrant Team HARD.


The UK Clio Cup enters 2016 hot off the heels of an enthralling 2015 season which resulted in a four-way fight for the title – eventually won at the final round by Ashley Sutton who now finds himself on the BTCC grid.

Jeremy Townsend, Renault UK’s Communications Director, commented: “We are absolutely delighted with the direction the UK Clio Cup is going in – we cannot think of another time when the levels of competition and professionalism in the championship have risen quite so dramatically. With such a high calibre of teams and drivers on the grid, the championship is on the cusp of a real purple patch in its history. Renault UK is looking forward very much to what promises to be another highly exciting season of action.”

Entry List: 2016 Renault UK Clio Cup

No. Driver (NAT) Hometown Team
1 Mike Bushell (GBR) Tunbridge Wells, Kent Team Pyro
3 Ollie Pidgley (GBR) Salisbury, Wilts Ciceley Motorsport
7 Sam Watkins (GBR) Swansea, Glamorgan 20Ten Racing
8 Luke Kidsley (GBR) Duston, Northants JamSport Racing
10 Ant Whorton-Eales (GBR) Lichfield, Staffs JamSport with AWE Motorsport
11 Anton Spires (GBR) Buckingham PP Motorsport
13 Rory Collingbourne (GBR) Newport, Gwent Team Cooksport
20 Paul Plant (GBR) Copthorne, West Sussex Vanquish Motorsport with WDE
22 Paul Rivett (GBR) Epsom Downs, Surrey WDE Motorsport
23 Charles Ladell (GBR) Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk WDE Motorsport
24 George Jackson (GBR) Bedford Team Cooksport
26 Paul Streather (GBR) Hinckley, Leics Finesse Motorsport/Paul Streather
28 Josh Price (GBR) Redbourn, Herts Team Pyro
32 Daniel Rowbottom (GBR) Kidderminster, Worcs Team EcoMotive with DRM
44 David Dickenson (IRL) Wicklow, Co Wicklow Team Pyro
45 Dan Zelos (GBR) Dereham, Norfolk Ciceley Motorsport
46 Lee Pattison (GBR) Scholes, West Yorkshire Team Cooksport
50 Graham Field (GBR) Southwell, Notts JamSport Racing
55 Tom Butler (GBR) Derby 20Ten Racing
63 Rory Green (GBR) Hildenborough, Kent WDE Motorsport
66 Senna Proctor (GBR) Driffield, East Riding of Yorks Team BMR with Pyro
71 Max Coates (GBR) Scorton, North Yorkshire Ciceley Motorsport
99 Darren Johnson (GBR) Kidderminster, Worcs Team Pyro

Calendar: 2016 Renault UK Clio Cup

Rounds Date Circuit
1 & 2 Sat 2/Sun 3 April Brands Hatch (Indy), Kent
3 & 4 Sat 16/Sun 17 April Donington Park (National), Leics
5 & 6 Sat 7/Sun 8 May Thruxton, Hants
7 & 8 Sat 4/Sun 5 June Oulton Park (Island), Cheshire
9 & 10 Sat 18/Sun 19 June Croft, North Yorks
11 & 12 Sat 30/Sun 31 July Snetterton, Norfolk
13 & 14 Sat 27/Sun 28 August Rockingham, Northants
15 & 16 Sat 17/Sun 18 Sept Silverstone (National), Northants
17 & 18 Sat 1/Sun 2 October Brands Hatch (Grand Prix), Kent