Winner Of Ford Prize For Women Announced

 Ford has announced that University of London student, Melissa Matthews, is the winner of the 2015 STEM Studies prize.


Recognising that women are traditionally under-represented in STEM (Science, Technology Engineering and Maths) studies and the related professions, the Ford prize aims to recognise the achievements of women studying STEM-based subjects and to encourage other women to become involved.


Graham Hoare, director Ford Global Engineering Operations, awarded the 1st Prize, of a £1000, to Melissa Matthews, who is in her first year of a Biomedical degree at St George’s, University of London.

Through the assessment process Melissa demonstrated her skills as a great ambassador for STEM subjects having mentored young girls in maths and chemistry, and showed her continued commitment to encouraging others.

On receiving the prize, Melissa said: “It was motivating to see women in senior positions within Ford Motor Company promoting STEM careers, and I will do my best to inspire the next generation of women in STEM and to encourage all young girls, with a passion for science, to consider a degree within these fields, the opportunities are endless.”

Your Life

The assessment process was supported by Your Life campaign director, Karen Gregory, who said: “It was brilliant to meet the shortlisted candidates and to see how involved and committed these young women are to promoting STEM. Young people need to know that maths and science can lead to all sorts of exciting opportunities and it’s with the help of ambassadors, like Melissa, that we can succeed.”

Your Life is a business-led initiative that aims to boost young people’s participation in science, technology, engineering and maths, the “STEM” subjects. Ford is one of eight main corporate sponsors of the Your Life campaign which targets 14-16 year olds, as they start to make key education decisions.

Runners Up

Runners up prizes (£250 each) were also awarded to the following students:

  • Zahra Farsijani (Electronic and Electrical Engineering, University College London)
  • Alice Goodwin (Aerospace Engineering, Swansea University)
  • Zoe Slattery (Electronic Engineering and Information Systems, Imperial College)