Car Of The Year Awards 2016

What Car? has revealed the nominees for its annual Car of the Year Awards 2016.

Highly Prized

The awards are some of the most highly prized automotive accolades by both car manufacturers and the car-buying public combined, because experts ensure that only the vehicles that deliver exceptionally against strict exacting criteria are shortlisted. The Reader Award is one of the most heavily contested, because it acts as a strong indicator of public sentiment towards new cars being brought to market in the next 12 months.

New Category

A new category is also making its debut at the 2016 Awards: the Compact Executive Car, for which challengers include the Jaguar XE. The most coveted of all the trophies up for grabs is the overall Car of the Year Award. The car that will be crowned as overall winner will have to beat the rest of the best across the event’s 18 separate categories.

Land Rover

21 British-built cars have made the long list. Among those, Land Rover models have received nominations across four categories: Small SUV (Land Rover Range Rover Evoque); Large SUV (Land Rover Range Rover Sport); (Land Rover Discovery Sport); Luxury Car (Land Rover Range Rover); and the Reader Award (Land Rover Range Rover Evoque Convertible).


Similarly Jaguar, which builds the F-Type Coupé (Coupé Award); Jaguar XE (Compact Executive Car, Safety Award); Jaguar XF (Large Executive Car, Safety Award); Jaguar XJ (Luxury Car); and the Jaguar F-Pace (Reader Award) in the UK has also received nominations across six categories respectively.

Jim Holder of What Car?  said: “It’s a hugely exciting time of the year for us in the automotive business, because the build-up for the Awards is properly underway and we can now announce the 2016 Awards contenders.

“The job our panel must undertake to determine not only the best performing car in each category, but then the overall What Car? Car of the Year for 2016 is an incredibly rigorous one, because each car must be stand-out and our overall winner, extraordinary.

“Each of those car manufacturers who have made our long list, have done so for reasons of some outstanding individual quality in their latest vehicles.

“Out a total of 138, 21 are built here in the UK, something we should all celebrate.”

Highest Standards

Awards are only given to the cars which set the highest standards in their class and only the best of these will be named What Car? Car of the Year 2016. The Awards take place on 13 January, 2016 at the Grosvenor House Hotel, Park Lane, London.